On Stage at the IdeaHUB

Don’t forget to check out the IdeaHUB on Thursday

10:30 AM – 10:55 AM

3D Scanning from Patrons to Projects

Raphael Ribkoff, Shop3D.ca

In this presentation, Raphael will show you how you can easily scan a person within minutes and prep it to be sent off to a 3D printer near you. See the textures and features of the subject form right before your eyes with 3D Scanning on the Einstar. Enjoy a fast paced live demo of the steps required to accomplish this task as well as answer any questions on the process as well as hardware. The easy-to-use EinStar 3D scanner adds itself seamlessly in his workflow, creating new possibilities that were previously unattainable.

11:00 AM – 11:25 AM

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Hope and action toward a more equal and just society

Stephen Dorsey, Author, Black and White: An Intimate, Multicultural Perspective on “White Advantage” and the Path to Change, Nimbus Publishing

Stephen discusses the need for more tangible action towards eliminating systemic inequality. In his eye-opening talk, Stephen takes us on an exploration of the inherent societal injustices still very present in our North American society today. He presents arguments that raise our collective understanding and awareness of the realities of “white advantage” and systemic racism and inequality in our public and private institution. In today’s talk, Stephen will specifically focus on the need to increase diversity and representation in the business sector including proactive action required to develop and fuel diversity pipelines. With an inclusive, bridge building perspective and approach, Stephen suggests tangible, practical actions for affecting change – challenging Canadian businesses to do more by going deeper- collaborating strategically with front line, in-community organizations to make tangible impacts. Stephen believes that it’s important to hold individuals and corporations gently to account and to encourage everyone to Be Better, Do Better and Live Better, together. A keynote for the ally in all of us.

12:00 PM – 12:25 PM

What’s New @ IEEE

Brian Ryckman, IEEE Client Services Manager, IEEE

Join IEEE Client Services Manager, Brian Ryckman, for an IEEE Xplore update to learn more about new features and functionality, content, and partnerships along with an overview of IEEE’s evolving Open Access program.

12:30 PM – 12:55 PM

Lion Tamer

Seth Falk, Hands-On Exotics

Get silly with us and come face to face with a real live LION (imposter)!! Learn about wild cats and how to train animals using positive, force free training.

1:00 PM – 1:25 PM

Get to Know Rare Machines, a new CanLit Imprint

Russell Smith, Dundurn Press

Rare Machines is Dundurn Press’s new literary imprint launched in 2021, publishing Canadian fiction that is playful, unusual, daring, or innovative. Dundurn Press acquisitions editor Russell Smith will present three exciting writers published under the imprint: Victoria Hetherington, the author of Autonomy; Camille Hernández-Ramdwar, author of the forthcoming story collection Suite As Sugar; and Nathan Whitlock, author of the forthcoming novel Lump.

1:30 PM – 1:55 PM

How Can the Library Help Students Stand Out in the Current Job Market?

Mariam Hasan, Product Sales Manager, Proquest, part of Clarivate

We know Canadian libraries are committed to helping students and patrons build the career skills that will be in demand when they enter the workplace. Your users rely on you to provide high-quality, online business and technology resources that can help them prepare for first jobs or pivot to new professions.

Come to the IdeaHub session to learn more about O’Reilly for Public Libraries and O’Reilly for Higher Education, available to Academic and Public Libraries in Canada exclusively through ProQuest, part of Clarivate.

You’ll hear:

  • An introduction to and live demo of the O’Reilly learning ecosystem
  • An understanding of how O’Reilly provides a wide variety of materials for all learning styles
  • An intro to specific, in-demand materials such as IT certification test prep materials (for Python, Linux, Amazon Web Services and more) and 30,000 hours of video

2:00 PM – 2:25 PM

Important Scientific Research Available via Streaming Video – Underline Science

Andon Baltakov, Chief Revenue Officer, Underline Science, Inc.

New ideas and breakthroughs in science are often discussed and presented at scholarly conferences. However, budgetary restrictions and overlapping sessions make it difficult for researchers to capture all they want from these important presentations.

Underline has preserved these valuable keynotes, poster sessions, technical papers and other lectures in streaming video format, making them available on-demand to researchers at any time. With the new Underline Science platform, it is now possible for researchers to search through over 25,000 lectures from more than 200 of the top conferences in fields such as Physics, Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence, Health Sciences, and more. We have also enriched the content to include downloadable transcripts, DOIs (to cite and share videos), along with opportunities to reach out to presenters after the conference.

Stop by to see the Underline Science in action, and learn how it can be a valuable tool for your researchers.